Star Wars Opening Crawls

Ever since its grand debut back in 1977, the enchanting saga of Star Wars has managed to captivate the hearts of people worldwide, evolving into a cultural marvel. This captivating tale doesn’t merely focus on the timeless struggle between good and evil; it extends its allure through numerous connections to both age-old myths and tangible truths from our own world. The incredible charm of these cinematic masterpieces, set in a distant and fantastical “Galaxy far, far away,” begins with what’s famously known as the “opening crawl.” This unique narrative device introduces viewers to the ongoing events within the Star Wars universe.

Continuing this captivating tradition were the sequels, namely The Empire Strikes Back in the year 1980 and Return of the Jedi in 1983. The intricate storytelling style was also extended to the prequel, released in 1999 The Phantom Menace, set 32 years before the films we know so well. However, my journey into the deeper layers of this universe began when I discovered the expanded universe series of novels and the interactive game ‘Star Wars Galactic Battlegrounds.’ These sources unveiled a wealth of elements that existed beyond the confines of the movies.

This newfound knowledge sparked a creative fire within me, prompting the creation of iconic opening crawls that eloquently detail the events unfolding in the Galaxy, both before and after the pivotal Battle of Yavin depicted in Episode IV. This battle, where the malevolent Galactic Empire’s planet-obliterating death star was thwarted in its attempt to annihilate the moon-like planet Yavin by the valiant Rebel Alliance, is a defining moment within this epic tale. The terms “BBY” denote time periods before this fateful clash, “BY” represents the era during the Battle of Yavin, and “ABY” signifies the years following this turning point.

While the narratives of Episodes I, IV, V, and VI remain familiar to most enthusiasts of Star Wars, there exists a treasure trove of even more enthralling tales set both before Episode I and after Episode VI. It is this untold universe of stories that serves as the heart of my endeavour. And so, as the classic line goes,

“A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away…” the journey begins.


Battle for Civilization (35 BBY)
The civilizations of the Galactic Republic are extending their reach; the Wookie transport Thalmussen penetrates the Alaris System representing Alaris Prime, a moon that is neighbour to the Wookie homeworld Kashyyyk


Bound for Alaris Prime, the transport carries villagers and warriors, all sharing hopes of colonization as with their home planet and are led by the Wookie chief Attichitcuk, his son Chewbacca and his nephew Shoran, having been granted colonization rights by the Republic four years earlier


But others also have designs for this world; the nefarious Trade Federation plots to ravage Alaris Prime and destroy anything that stands in their way…



The Phantom Menace (32 BBY)
Turmoil has engulfed the Galactic Republic. The taxation of trade routes to outlying star systems in in dispute.


Hoping to resolve the matter with a blockade of deadly battleships, the greedy Trade Federation has stopped all shipping to the small planet of Naboo.


While the Congress of the Republic endlessly debates this alarming chain of events, the Supreme Chancellor has secretly dispatched two Jedi Knights, the guardians of peace and justice in the galaxy to settle the conflict…



A New Hope (BY)
It is a period of civil war, Rebel ships striking from a hidden base have won their first victory against the evil Galactic Empire.


During the battle, Rebel spies managed to steal secret plans to the Empire’s ultimate weapon, the Death Star, an armoured space station with enough power to destroy an entire planet.


Pursued by the Empire’s sinister agents, Princess Leia races home aboard her starship, custodian of the stolen plans that can save her people and restore freedom to the galaxy…




The Empire Strikes Back (3 ABY)
It is a dark time for the Rebellion. Even though the Death Star has been destroyed, Imperial troops have driven the Rebel forces from their hidden base and pursued them across the galaxy.


Evading the dreaded Imperial Starfleet, a group of freedom fighters led by Luke Skywalker has established a new secret base on the remote ice world of Hoth.


The evil lord Darth Vader obsessed with finding young Skywalker has dispatched thousands of remote probes into the far regions of space…




Return of the Jedi (4 ABY)

Luke Skywalker has returned to his home planet of Tatooine in an attempt to rescue his friend Han Solo from the clutches of the vile gangster Jabba the Hutt.


Little does Luke know that the Galactic Empire has secretly begun construction on a new armoured space station, even more powerful than the first dreaded Death Star.


When completed, this ultimate weapon will spell certain doom for the small band of Rebels struggling to restore freedom to the galaxy…





Liberation of Confidence (4 ABY)
After the destruction of the second Death Star, the Imperial forces have scattered in a vain attempt at retreat.


Taking advantage of the situation, the Rebel Alliance now the New Republic dispatches representatives to dozens of worlds to overthrow the Empire and its insidious agents.


Turning their eye towards the Wookie homeworld Kashyyyk, the New Republic sends Han Solo and Chewbacca to determine what it will take to restore freedom…


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.